You are in: Display

Wainwright Trust Breakthrough Award

The Wainwright Trust Breakthrough Award is presented annually to the unsung heroes of the equal opportunities world. In 2006, the award was made to three Ford sewing machinists from the 1968 strike - Violet Dawson, Sheila Douglass, Vera Sime - and to Bernie Passingham, the TGWU convenor who helped them. Also honoured were three of the women who concluded the Ford equal pay struggle in 1974, TGWU senior shop steward Dora Challingsworth, Geraldine Wiseman and Pam Brown.

The inscription on the reverse reads 'Ford sewing machinists : 1968 win equal pay and secure passage of 1970 Equal Pay Act - 1854 win upgrading and skill recognition.'

Title Wainwright Trust Breakthrough Award 2006
Maker --
Production Date 2006
Format Object
Copyright Wainwright Trust
Holding Institution TUC Library Collections, London Metropolitan University
Related Objects --
If you would like to contact us in relation to either the objects you see here, or the site itself, please use our Feedback Form